Skip to main content


Craig Keating becomes inaugural AFL Barwon Life Member

The AFL Barwon Commission has tonight awarded the first AFL Barwon Life Membership to Craig Keating at the Annual General Meeting.
Keating served as the inaugural chair of the AFL Barwon Commission over a ten-year tenure concluding his term at the end of 2022.

Current AFL Barwon Chair, Michelle Gerdtz was delighted that Craig has been recognised for his outstanding service.
“Craig’s commitment to the Region since the inception of AFL Barwon was exceptional. As the inaugural Chair, he led the Region from through some really challenging times that his strong leadership helped guide the business, Clubs, and its stakeholders through”.
Craig left AFL Barwon last year in such a great position, and there is certainly no one more deserving than Craig for this Life Membership award.”
The AFL Barwon Commission also ratified the new 3-year terms of current serving Commissioners Diana Murase and Mark Wilken, as well as the addition of Ethan Vines who will fill the vacant position left by Robert Hallett who has served his full term.
AFL Barwon Chair, Michelle Gerdtz thanked Robert Hallett for his dedication and commitment to the Commission.
Gerdtz stated “Bob, has been a fantastic servant of AFL Barwon firstly as an inaugural regional committee appointee and then as AFL Barwon Commissioner. I thank him for his support to me personally and for his commitment to the whole Commission and football and netball in the region through this time.  

Ethan Vines joins the AFL Barwon Commission as part of the City of Greater Geelong Youth on Board Program. This is a leadership program that trains and supports young people between 18 and 25 in becoming on the boards of management of local organisations. Ethan’s expertise is in Digital Marketing, recently completing a Bachelor of Communications at Deakin University.
The profiles of the AFL Barwon Commissioners can be found here.
  • Hits: 2231