GFL Stars In Initial Vic Country Senior Squad

Eight GFL stars are in contention to represent Vic Country next month in the Brian Molony Cup clash against the Victorian Amateur Football Association (VAFA).

Newtown & Chilwell duo Rob Condy and Matt McMahon, Colac’s Campbell Floyd and Geelong West Giant Chris Moreland, who played in Country’s win over Vic Metro in Bendigo last year, have been named along with Moreland’s West teammate Jayden Symes, North Shore coach Jason Davenport and St Mary’s Dobson brothers, Ben and Sam.

All eight players featured in the Geelong Football League’s Interleague victory over the Mornington Penninsula at the MCG last month, to remain the number one ranked community football league. The GFL also boasts the most players in the Vic Country squad along with Ovens & Murray.

WorkSafe AFL Victoria Country Football Manager Jim Cail said the 2017 Brian Molony Cup presented country Victoria’s top community players with the opportunity to showcase their skills.

“The Brian Molony Cup provides an opportunity for some of country Victoria’s best senior players to test themselves against the top talent in the state.

“For some players, the Brian Molony Cup will be the highest level of football they will play in their career, while for others, it is a chance to move a step closer to achieving their AFL dreams,” he said.

The side will be coached by former St Kilda captain Danny Frawley, in the bi-annual match that kicks off at 2.15pm at Frankston City Oval on July 8.

Full Squad:

Rob Condy Geelong FNL Newtown Chilwell FNC
Matt Dussin Ovens & Murray FL Myrtleford FNC
Jonathon Spina Ovens & Murray FL Lavington FNC
Dylan Jones MPNFL Bonbeach FNC
Jayden Symes Geelong FNL Geelong West Giants FNC
Lachlan Howe Ovens & Murray FL Yarrawonga FNC
Ben Monkhorst AFL Yarra Ranges Woori Yallock FNC
Scott Dwyer AFL Yarra Ranges Wandin FNC
Michael Newton Ovens & Murray FL Wangaratta FNC
Matt Thornton Bendigo FNL Sandhurst FNC
Sam Dobson Geelong FNL St. Mary’s FNC
Aaron Edwards MPNFL Pines FNC
Rory Taggert Hampden FNL North Warrnambool Eagles FNC
Tim McIntyre Hampden FNL Koroit FNC
Steven Stroobandts Goulburn Valley FNL Rochester FNC
Jarrah Maksymow Ballarat FNL Bacchus Marsh FNC
Shane McDonald MPNFL Bonbeach FNC
Jason Davenport Geelong FNL North Shore FNC
Campbell Floyd Geelong FNL Colac FNC
Matthew McMahon Geelong FNL Newtown Chilwell FNC
Chris Moreland Geelong FNL Geelong West Giants FNC
Scott MacLeod MPNFL Frankston YCW FNC
Jason Cole Goulburn Valley FNL Seymour FNC
Nathan Marrone Goulburn Valley FNL Rochester FNC
Elliott Powell Ovens & Murray FL Albury FNC
Brian Graham Ballarat FNL Darley FNC
Scott Sherlock Ballarat FNL Bacchus Marsh FNC
Andrew Collins Bendigo FNL Sandhurst FNC
Ben Dobson Geelong FNL St. Mary’s FNC
Sam Martyn Goulburn Valley FNL Benalla FNC
Kyle Hutchison MPNFL Frankston YCW FNC
Brayden O’Hara Ovens & Murray FL Albury FNC
Jack Geary Bendigo FNL Golden Square FNC
Michael Bordignon Ovens & Murray FL Wangarratta FNC
Liam Hoy Ballarat FNL Redan FNC
Shane Page Ballarat FNL Darley FNC
Codie Price Bendigo FNL Sandhurst FNC
Jack Di Mizio Ovens & Murray FL Wodonga Raiders FNC
We would like to proudly thank our

Official AFL Barwon Partners